Bumper Sticker Philosophers

Art Is a Verb

It seems to be hip right now for people to sport pithy philosophical leanings on the rear bumpers of their cars. I’ll be the first (or second) to admit that I’m not hip; but this practice eludes me. During my meanderings the other day I stumbled upon a particularly intriguing phrase, which I share with you here.

It’s not that I doubt the veracity of the orange sticker. Art is a verb, as in “Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day? Thou art more lovely and more temperate.” I undertsand the statement; I just don’t get it.

I fear the stickerer (new word) may be trying to imply that art is about the making of it. If that is so, this interpretation proves my point about the inadequacies of bumper sticker philosophy. I can’t imagine why anyone would want to define any essential human endeavor in four little words.

Art is about so much more than “Just Do It,” isn’t it? For me, art is a reflection of our humanity. But I crave enlightenment — does anyone have an opinion about this? What is your definition of art? Do you feel that art is just about the mechanics? Or does art give us something more?

Leave a comment

Filed under Enlightenment

Leave a Reply

